South East Linux Fest

13 Jun

Southeast Linux Fest was this past weekend, in Charlotte, North Carolina. It was a pretty fun experience, but first, I’d like to start out by talking about my time at the Fedora table.

It was pretty fun, and an interesting experience – for once, I wasn’t the one going, “Hey, I don’t have a single clue, ask him.” Instead, someone else was saying to me, “Hey, I don’t know – ask that guy, or that one over there.” I didn’t realize the amount of knowledge I’ve gained just from sitting in the #fedora channel on irc.freenode.net.

It was good to see nb and j_dulaney again, as well as others who I do not get to see often. Also, I got the opportunity to meet Andrew Ward – he seems to be a pretty good guy, and was a great hnelp in running the table. Many thanks to you, award!

Next, I’d like to get on to the chosen venue, as well as hotel. To say the MOST, I was not impressed, at all. The bathroom in my hotel room was chipped and had some sort of white dust – which I assumed to be dust from the chipped tub – in it. Our room had two full-sized beds, which was strange to me, since most hotel rooms I stay in have queen-sized at the least; this, however, was of no consequence to me. The public restrooms were not to my liking, and the elevators were the wackiest I have ever seen. They took me up and down, past the floor I was looking for, on several occasions, and seemed intent on trying to close before anyone could get into them.

Finally, I am done complaining – on to some good things!

The local food in Charlotte was pretty amazing. I found myself waiting to go to the room to do some research on Portal Magic, so I might open portals from my yard to these restaurants. The first restaurant we went to was called Valhalla Pub and Eatery. It was a small little place, with more outside seating than in, but it had an awesome atmosphere. The first thing noticeable to one walking in was definitely the big bearded axe hanging on a post at the bar. Behind the bar there was a big ol’ viking helmet. Rounding a corner, one would see many drawings on the walls, reminiscent of cave paintings. Up on the wall, opposite of these drawings, is a spear, and below it, some fey (I was argued with that they were trolls, but they seemed like regular gremlins to me). On the wall was a big huge TV, with a game of football [actual football, not American]. They sell all sorts of beer – in name, my favorite was Sex Viking, simply because of the poster for it on the wall. My girlfriend and mother had a try at a shot of their Sweedish Fish – a many liquor drink with a little grenadine and sour mix. They said it was like drinking a sweedish fish, which must have been an interesting experience. They also had a delicious lemonade – hand-squeezed, made when you order it.

The next night, we went to Mac’s Barbecue and Bikes or something like that. They were pretty good, and you definitely got what you paid for. They didn’t have too terribly high of prices – I got their Carolina-style Brisket, which cost about $16, but was also said to have cooked for 12 hours and came with a whole lot of mac ‘n cheese and onion rings.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

